Stormcast Eternals

Aetherwings

I thought I’d start my Age of Sigmar and my Stormcast painting project with something fun. I had actually picked these guys up before receiving my full order as something to paint while I waited on everything else coming. The Vanguard Raptors are not far behind but these bright blue magical birds were just an absolute joy to paint.

Aetherwings1

The birds are based in a dark blue with a bright blue layer for the wing tips. I then put a blue wash over the whole model. The first one I did with drybrushing – first the bright blue and then a very light blue at the tips. The effect wasn’t quite what I was after so for the second and third one I went the long route of manually line highlighting each feather. It took a bit longer but is much cleaner.

Aetherwings2Aetherwings3Aetherwings4

Once the wings were complete I did the ribbon in turquoise to tie them into my choice of the Celestial Vindicators for my Stormcasts.

I’m really happy with the finished product and it was fun doing something I didn’t know how to do when I started. There was a couple of false starts with purples and reds but I was able to paint over it without losing much detail.

Plenty more to come, and as usual feel free to leave any comments below. Until next time, bye the noo.

– Callum

1 thought on “Aetherwings”

Leave a Reply

