Imperial Guard

Assorted Guardsmen

Finishing my army of course means finishing up all the odds and ends. Tonight I finished up all the extra guardsmen who are not normally part of my army: the extra bodies basically and the alternative weapon options.

First up are the flamers. My Veterans do have a tendency to get pretty close up to the enemy and a flamer is a pretty good utility weapon in close proximity situations. Being able to cause a good number of hits they can increase the damage output of the unit and can help a little should the unit be charged – well, that depends on what’s doing the charging. Sometimes, it’s just a frugal option. Sometimes the point budget just wont stretch to a third plasma gun but you still want to have that extra weapon in there.

20170205225650

Melta Guns are useful on occassion. I had toyed with the idea of building my infantry as Melta-Vets but opted for the better range (and self-harm) of Plasma. More of a utility choice but since adding a couple of Tempestus Scion units equipped with melta I think I’m more likely to use those units for the melta role. Being able to deep strike in adds a decent amount of a threat multiplier over the Vets with melta.

20170205225512

Then there’s the no-option option. My first 4 squads of Veterans are all set up as triple Plasma. Sometimes though that’s just a little expensive when double plasma would do the job just fine. These last 4 just give me that flexibility back when building my army and let’s me allocate that 60 points elsewhere (that’s nearly a whole Wyvern after all!).

20170205225547

At this stage the army is nearing completion. As well as these guardsmen I also spent some time painting up all the Leman Russ weapons that I can swap around. The last 3 heavy weapons teams are about 25% done, the last Wyvern is done just needs weathered, and the last 2 Leman Russ tanks are sitting about 75% done. I’m one or two good painting sessions away from completing my army and I don’t know how I feel about that.

As always, feel free to leave me a comment below. Until next time, bye the noo!

-Callum

4 thoughts on “Assorted Guardsmen”

      1. No not really. I had started some orks but I’m just not feeling it. There’s a little bit of Tempestus too but I’m fast approaching the state of nirvana of having all painted miniatures.

        Like

Leave a Reply

