Militarum Tempestus

First Model of my Militarum Tempestus division – Taurox Prime

With my standard Imperial Guard army so close to being complete I decided a month or two back to branch out into Militarum Tempestus. It allows me to expand my army while being an excellent ally force for other armies. As such I chose a seperate colour scheme but one I felt complimented the colour of my 71st.

I’m kicking the project off with a Taurox Prime from one of the two Hellrain Brigades I’ve purchased. I was inspired by some of the modern vehicles used in the middle east and felt the models are well designed to fit this colour scheme. I’ve gone my usual route of heavy weathering over a simple paintjob and I couldn’t be happier.

I have to admit, I had planned to pick up the wheel kits for my Taurox but after assembly I found I actually quite liked the tracks. Without all the gold trim they start looking a little bit more sensible so I went with it. It would be a relatively easy job to switch them later but I doubt I will.

So there’s my new Taurox. I’d love to hear your thoughts on it: the colour scheme, the weathering, the odd tracks. Comments are always welcome.

Until next time, bye the noo!

-Callum

6 thoughts on “First Model of my Militarum Tempestus division – Taurox Prime”

  1. Your weathering really makes the model. I agree with your choice to stay away from gold accents. I’ve made the same decisions with my guard, reserving gold only for commanders. This approach and your weathering tired in the tracks nicely like you mentioned. I’m still not entirely sold on them. Only have one taurox in my army so far and went with wheels.

    Like

    1. Thanks. It took me a while to settle on a colour scheme for my Tempestus and it was either this or the white. In the end I decided I could make the khaki look better but it looks all wrong with a different colour on the trim. The tracks are still odd though but I think I’ll stick with them.

      Like

      1. I went with khaki and purple, I needed to justify the purchase of new colors. It was the same thought process of wanting something completely different from my other guard. I keep telling myself purple used to be for royalty. I’ll email you a link to some wheels I designed and 3d printed.

        Like

Leave a Reply

