Second Chimera complete

I think I’m getting better at doing tanks for my Imperial Guard army. They are actually really fun and quick to paint and I’ve actually got 3 others on the go at the same time – I just finished up this one and have a bit of detailing and weathering to do on another.

I kept the weathering heavy but tried to focus it in specific places rather than just all over – I didn’t do the oil and mud with washes because – well honestly I just forgot and now it’s all powdered and varnished I don’t want to mess that up. I also used completely the wrong decal on the turret but just went with it rather than getting too precious.

I also realised about half way through painting the tracks on this one that I can speed up the whole process by simply masking it out. This allows me to use a big fat brush and use techniques like drybrushing more quickly. Should speed up the whole process going forward.

I didn’t drybrush as heavily on the bodywork on this model as I did on the Leman Russ as I felt it was a little odd looking. It took a little longer to use washes and blending to add some shading but it’s less noticeable than the drybrushing.

So that’s the second Chimera ready for the table. I have a game next week and have everything built and base coated now so it’ll be the first time I’ve put my full 1850 points on the table – what changes will I want to make after playing that game? Coming up soon (ish?) I have blocked in the main paint for another 2 Leman Russ Exterminators and a Wyvern. There’s still a lot of work to do but the army is coming together now.

Comments and critiques are welcome as usual, please let me know what you think below. Until next time, bye the noo.

-Callum

Leave a Reply

