Imperial Guard

Techpriest Enginseers

As I plan to build a fairly tank heavy army (current count including transports puts that count at 12!) I figured I would need someone to repair damage so I picked up some Enginseers. Unfortunately I picked these up before the plastic one was released – so I probably will have to buy the new one at some point.

The quality of the metal cast is not great but I think I managed to make these look OK. Strangely enough because I didn’t really like the model itself I wasn’t too bothered about how it turned out – which led to me to feel really free to play around. The results ended up being one of my favourites so far.

The cloaks were a lot of fun, not just for painting in the details around the trim but I also tried using different colours for the highlights and recesses from the base. It may not be very obvious but in the shadows of the cloaks I have used a little purple and on the highlights a little orange. Even on the metal I used blue rather than black or brown.

The shoulder light also gave me a little chance to try my OSL techniques with some good success I think.

What do you think?

-Callum

3 thoughts on “Techpriest Enginseers”

  1. Nice work – nailing the trim on folded cloth isn’t easy so good work pulling it off. I know what you mean about a model that isn’t your favourite allowing you to experiment without repercussion. Equally painting a model I particularly like always piles on extra pressure for me. Keep up the good work.

    Like

    1. Don’t you find that sometimes the models you look forward to and think look the best are disappointing to paint and then something you never thought you would enjoy is so satisfying. I have painted a couple of Khorne things for a friend and NEVER liked the look of chaos at all and it has changed my perspective and been some of the most rewarding painting I’ve ever done.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes, very much so actually. I find this doesn’t just apply to single models either but to whole factions. For example the Imperial Guard have never done anything for me, but that’s inspired me to start thinking about how I would change things, what tweaks and conversions I’d use to make them more interesting. They’ve gone from being an army I’d never collect to one I almost certainly will precisely because I didn’t like them at first glance. Likewise Fantasy Dwarves and Wood Elves. Whereas the Dark Eldar, for example, look amazing but I’ll probably never paint any.

        Like

Leave a Reply

